NOVOLAND - Philippe Calandre - François Ronsiaux

Paris Saint Germain

NOVOLAND

4 - 27 November 2021

Philippe Calandre & François Ronsiaux

In the framework of Saint-Germain pictures

NOVOLAND

Do you want to create a new world? A "Novoland", a new promised land? Well, fear not: nothing is easier! First, designate a visual element in your image. Any: for example, an ordinary window or a simple individual. Then duplicate it at will with your software. Assemble the modules thus cloned, arrange these avatars in space… You will obtain a wall riddled with formally identical skylights, proudly rising towards the heavens. Or a crowd of “replicants” with disembodied and rigorously similar silhouettes, ready to colonize every part of the planet ... even the galaxy! Finally, model the aggregate of matter thus produced to your liking, polish the sketched staging, and you will have created your own modernist architectures, your futuristic landscapes and your most extravagant science-fiction scenarios, like the works photographs of Philippe Calandre and François Ronsiaux.

Fantastic realism

Yet this is certainly where art's inexhaustible creative force resides: in its capacity to use the imagination to forge a new world - or a new degree of reality. Like a "demiurge" who, since the cosmogonic writings of Plato in the Timaeus, is thought out on the model of an artist or a craftsman building the universe according to his own laws, from a "primary element" (called arkhe in ancient Greek), with which he composes. It is moreover quite striking to note that this arkhe, which gives in our language the term "archetype", would designate just as well this simple multiplied window, forming the brutalist buildings that Philippe Calandre erects like monoliths (Five square), that this distressing clone equipped with a briefcase, that François Ronsiaux duplicates in floating panoramas where everything seems put on hold (Sentinelle).

One would readily speak of "fantastic realism" in the face of the astonishing urbanistic constructions of Modular Standing. Or in the face of fictitious situations, populated by mysterious characters, offered in particular by Portal, as if the key to the script had escaped us for good. We oscillate between floating and tensioning. We bathe in a nebulous atmosphere conducive to doubt, paranoia and delusions of reason: who erected these concrete monsters? What is hiding behind the windows of Suntec City climbing to infinity? What authoritarian and anonymous power crushes civil society under their weight, as this photographic series suggests? And how will unravel these "freeze frames", which one scrutinizes with a dubious eye, and whose ghostly protagonists, molded in their white latex jumpsuits, move into sanitized business districts where the insidious plots (La Défense, proposal)?

At the edge of silence

But if there is one impression that emerges from the images of Philippe Calandre and François Ronsiaux, it is this “silent dehumanization” which crystallizes on the one hand in “disastrous” architectures where men, ephemeral and insignificant creatures , find themselves caught in their own trap, swallowed up by these glass and concrete giants that they gave birth to ... And which now overwhelm them with their omnipotence, like a monument with icy and angular edges, ready to absorb any vital force emanating from the company. A mutic dehumanization which finds its symbol on the other hand in these immaculate and neutralized white outfits, flags of an ultra-sanitary and formal society, haunted by the idea of ​​surviving its own disappearance, dressing here and there a missionary clone of 'a briefcase in the middle of disturbing futuristic and misty landscapes. " The eternal silence of these infinite spaces frightens me », One might say, using the words of the philosopher and mystic Blaise Pascal (Thoughts, "Disproportion of man"). Like him, we would feel here lost between two orders of magnitude. Outside, the endless immensity of an expanding universe, or a world of alienating asphalt. In us, the presentiment of the miserable " vanity Of our condition.

Our gaze is then caught between two atmospheres, two antinomic motifs: gray megalopolises and vaporous nature, lines of sharp ridges of buildings (Floating Module) and veil of mist enveloping the landscape in its clouds (Blue Lake). Everything shows itself to be too ethereal and dissolved, or too hard, smooth and brittle, for our understanding to take hold in the face of these unknown "places" (topos in ancient Greek), utopian or dystopian, and disentangles the enigma that inhabits them ... These "Novoland", places of all possibilities, appear in this to be the variants of a surveillance society which finds its strictest model in Singapore . The architectural elements of Suntec City also decline the constructions of Paul Rudolph dating from the 1980s in the island city, while the omniscient eye of The Prisoner and the cameraAction in Paris both overlook our police existence - and this since the establishment of the “Bertillon system” by the Paris prefecture at the end of the XNUMXth century.

An ocean in a drop of water

From then on, everything would be nothing more than a question of order in “Novoland”: putting in order the city and the buildings which form it, the society and the individuals who compose it. This ordering of the world seems to take into account the principles of Monadology by the philosopher and scholar, GW Leibniz. Let a monad designate a " raw substance », Or the minimal unit of which everything is composed, in the wake of ancient atomism. Like a cement factory window that Philippe Calandre's architectures repeat like a motif, following the greatest economy of means: the utopias he draws are born from this aggregate of homogeneous pixels. Or a monad which, like the “Guides” imagined by François Ronsiaux (these hermaphrodite latex creatures, of identical appearance, which reproduce by duplication), is defined both as an individuated being, and as the simple link of a larger whole: here, a universal community preparing "a new horizontal world order", in line with authoritarian fantasies and conspiracy theories.

This reduction of the living to its most elementary degree would give rise to fear of an impoverishment of beings and of the universe, as in George Orwell's “Novlang” which narrows the range of our vocabulary, and thereby standardizes our expression and our feelings. However, let us listen to Leibniz's visionary flights one last time: “ Each portion of the material can be thought of as a garden full of plants, and as a pond full of fish. But every branch of the plant, every limb of the animal, every drop of its humours is still such a garden or such a pond. », Describes the philosopher, prefiguring the fractal figures of mathematics, where each object is thought of on the model of Russian dolls. Everything appears in fact as a set of monads, themselves made up of a multitude of other smaller monads, having the same structure. They reflect, like a " mirror », The individual they constitute, but also the entire universe in which it evolves: the smallest prefigures the largest. Thus, if we are only a grain of sand drowned in the cement of cities, the radiating buildings which spring from them in turn reflect, in all their splendor, the elementary composition of the granules of which they are made. Yes, we are just a droplet " indistinguishable In the ocean enclosing these utopian city-islands. That a tear whose melancholy is reflected in the clouds vaporizing a distant land, a gray day of life, somewhere deep in the universe… So much for poetry… And it is already so much!

Francois Salmeron,

Art critic member of AICA-France (International Association of Art Critics)
Teacher at the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, and Paris 8 Saint-Denis, as well as at the ESAD in Reims

EN FR

NOVOLAND – Philippe Calandre – François Ronsiaux

PARIS Saint-Germain

NOVOLAND

4 - 27 novembre 2021

Philippe Calandre & François Ronsiaux

Dans le cadre de Photo Saint-Germain

NOVOLAND

Vous souhaitez créer un monde nouveau ? Un « Novoland », une nouvelle terre promise ? Eh bien, n’ayez crainte : rien n’est plus facile ! Tout d’abord, désignez un élément visuel dans votre image. N’importe lequel : par exemple, une ordinaire fenêtre ou un simple individu. Puis dupliquez-le à loisir avec votre logiciel. Assemblez les modules ainsi clonés, disposez ces avatars dans l’espace… Vous obtiendrez un mur criblé de lucarnes formellement identiques, se dressant fièrement vers les cieux. Ou une foule de « réplicants » aux silhouettes désincarnées et rigoureusement similaires, prête à coloniser chaque parcelle de la planète… voire de la galaxie ! Enfin, modelez à votre convenance l’agrégat de matière ainsi produit, peaufinez la mise en scène esquissée, et vous aurez créé vos propres architectures modernistes, vos paysages futuristes et vos scénarios de science-fiction les plus extravagants, à l’instar des œuvres photographiques de Philippe Calandre et de François Ronsiaux.

Un réalisme fantastique

Or c’est certainement là que réside l’inépuisable force de création de l’art : dans sa capacité à faire acte d’imagination pour forger un monde nouveau – ou un nouveau degré de réalité. Tel un « démiurge » qui, depuis les écrits cosmogoniques de Platon dans le Timée, est pensé sur le modèle d’un artiste ou d’un artisan bâtissant l’univers selon ses propres lois, à partir d’un « élément premier » (appelé arkhè en Grec ancien), avec lequel il compose. Il est d’ailleurs assez frappant de constater que cet arkhè, qui donne dans notre langue le terme « archétype », désignerait tout aussi bien cette simple fenêtre démultipliée, formant les bâtiments brutalistes qu’érige Philippe Calandre comme des monolithes (Five Square), que ce clone angoissant muni d’une mallette, que François Ronsiaux duplique dans des panoramas flottants où tout semble mis en suspens (Sentinelle).

On parlerait volontiers de « réalisme fantastique » face aux étonnantes constructions urbanistiques de Modular Standing. Ou face aux situations fictives, peuplées de personnages mystérieux, que propose notamment Portail, comme si la clé du scénario nous échappait pour de bon. On oscille en effet entre flottement et mise en tension. On baigne dans une ambiance nébuleuse propice au doute, à la paranoïa et aux délires de la raison : qui a érigé ces monstres de béton ? Que se cache-t-il derrière les fenêtres de Suntec City grimpant jusqu’à l’infini ? Quel pouvoir autoritaire et anonyme écrase sous leur poids la société civile, comme le laisse présager cette série photographique ? Et comment vont se dénouer ces « arrêts sur image », que l’on scrute d’un œil dubitatif, et dont les protagonistes fantomatiques, moulés dans leur combinaison blanche de latex, se meuvent jusque dans des quartiers d’affaires aseptisés où se trament d’insidieux complots (La Défense, proposition) ?

Aux confins du silence

Mais s’il est une impression qui se dégage des images de Philippe Calandre et de François Ronsiaux, c’est bien cette « déshumanisation silencieuse » qui se cristallise d’une part dans des architectures « désastreuses » où les hommes, éphémères et insignifiantes créatures, se trouvent pris à leur propre piège, engloutis par ces géants de verre et de béton qu’ils ont enfantés… Et qui les accablent désormais de leur toute-puissance, tel un monument aux arêtes glaciales et angulaires, prêt à absorber toute force vitale émanant de la société. Une déshumanisation mutique qui trouve d’autre part son symbole dans ces tenues blanches immaculées et neutralisées, étendards d’une société ultra-sanitaire et protocolaire, hantée par l’idée de survivre à sa propre disparition, habillant çà et là un clone missionné d’une mallette au milieu d’inquiétants paysages futuristes et brumeux. « Le silence éternel de ces espaces infinis m’effraie », pourrait-on dire en reprenant les mots du philosophe et mystique Blaise Pascal (Les Pensées, « Disproportion de l’homme »). Comme lui, on se sentirait ici égaré entre deux ordres de grandeur. A l’extérieur, l’immensité sans fin d’un univers en expansion, ou d’un monde de bitume aliénant. En nous, le pressentiment de la misérable « vanité » de notre condition.

Notre regard se trouve alors pris entre deux atmosphères, deux motifs antinomiques : mégapoles grises et nature vaporeuse, lignes de crêtes tranchantes des buildings (Floating Module) et voile de brume enveloppant le paysage de ses nuées (Blue Lake). Tout se montre trop éthéré et dissous, ou trop dur, lisse et cassant, pour que notre entendement puisse prendre prise face à ces « lieux » inconnus (topoi en Grec ancien), utopiques ou dystopiques, et démêle l’énigme qui les habite… Ces « Novoland », lieux de tous les possibles, apparaissent en cela comme les variantes d’une société de surveillance qui trouve son modèle le plus strict dans Singapour. Les éléments architecturaux de Suntec City déclinent d’ailleurs les constructions de Paul Rudolph datant des années 1980 dans la cité insulaire, tandis que l’œil omniscient de The Prisoner et la caméra d’Action in Paris surplombent tous deux nos existences fliquées – et ce, depuis la mise en place du « système Bertillon » par la préfecture de Paris à la fin du XIXe siècle.

Un océan dans une goutte d’eau

Dès lors, tout ne serait plus qu’une question d’ordre dans « Novoland » : mise en ordre de la ville et du bâti qui la quadrille, de la société et des individus qui la composent. Cet ordonnancement du monde semble reprendre à son compte les principes de la Monadologie du philosophe et savant, G. W. Leibniz. Soit une monade désignant une « substance première », ou l’unité minimale dont se compose chaque chose, dans le sillage de l’atomisme antique. A l’image d’une fenêtre de cimenterie que les architectures de Philippe Calandre répètent comme un motif, suivant la plus grande économie de moyens : les utopies qu’il dessine naissent de cet agrégat de pixels homogènes. Ou une monade qui, à la manière des « Guides » imaginés par François Ronsiaux (ces créatures de latex hermaphrodites, d’apparence identique, qui se reproduisent par dédoublement), se définit à la fois comme un être individué, et comme le simple maillon d’un ensemble plus large : ici, une communauté universelle préparant « un nouvel ordre mondial horizontal », dans la lignée des fantasmes autoritaires et des théories du complot.

Cette réduction du vivant à son degré le plus élémentaire laisserait craindre un appauvrissement des êtres et de l’univers, comme dans la « Novlang » de George Orwell qui rétrécit le panel de notre vocabulaire, et par là même uniformise notre expression et nos sentiments. Pourtant, écoutons une dernière fois les envolées visionnaires de Leibniz : « Chaque portion de la matière peut être conçue comme un jardin plein de plantes, et comme un étang plein de poissons. Mais chaque rameau de la plante, chaque membre de l’animal, chaque goutte de ses humeurs est encore un tel jardin ou un tel étang », décrit le philosophe, préfigurant les figures fractales de la mathématique, où chaque objet se pense sur le modèle des poupées russes. Toute chose apparaît en effet comme un ensemble de monades, elles-mêmes constituées d’une multitude d’autres monades plus réduites, ayant la même structure. Elles reflètent, tel un « miroir », l’individu qu’elles constituent, mais aussi l’entièreté de l’univers dans lequel celui-ci évolue : le plus petit préfigure le plus grand. Ainsi, si nous ne sommes qu’un grain de sable noyé dans le ciment des villes, les buildings irradiants qui en jaillissent reflètent à leur tour, de toute leur superbe, la composition élémentaire des granules dont ils sont faits. Oui, nous ne sommes qu’une gouttelette « indiscernable » dans l’océan enserrant ces îles-cités utopiques. Qu’une larme dont la mélancolie se réfléchit dans les nuages vaporisant une lointaine contrée, un jour gris de la vie, quelque part au fond de l’univers… Voilà pour la poésie… Et c’est déjà tant !

François Salmeron,

Critique d’art membre de l’AICA-France (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art)
Enseignant à l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, et Paris 8 Saint-Denis, ainsi qu’à l’ESAD de Reims

EN FR